Our Identity

We are a welcoming community center serving as a source of essential information and as a gathering place for the civic participation of multicultural families in our community. We bring positive change to the community by facilitating the integration of families to East Tennessee.

Our mission is to promote empowerment and civic participation of the multicultural community through education and social services.

 

Our Story

In 2005, Centro Hispano became a 501c3 non-profit organization. Knoxville had a large unmet need to have a central place where internationals, especially Latinos, could learn English and find resources to help them improve their lives. In 2010, with the assistance of the Helen Ross McNabb Center and Knox County, Centro Hispano found a home at 2455 Sutherland Avenue in the John Tarleton Campus.

 

Our Team

Staff

Claudia Caballero
Executive Director
Honduran American

claudia@centrohispanotn.org

Marybel Risley
Office Manager
Mexican

office@centrohispanotn.org

Cheyenne Peters
Resource Coordinator AmeriCorps VISTA
American

vista@centrohispanotn.org

Luis Urrea
Volunteer Coordinator AmeriCorps VISTA
Mexican-American

volunteer@centrohispanotn.org

Alexandra Rasmussen
Children’s Program Coordinator AmeriCorps VISTA
American

kids@centrohispanotn.org

Youth and Family Engagement

Megan Barolet-Fogarty
Youth & Family Engagement Director
American

megan@centrohispanotn.org

Luci Diego
Youth and Family Liaison
Guatemalan American

luci@centrohispanotn.org

Annie Duran
Westview Site Coordinator
Dominican

annie@centrohispanotn.org

Wil Turner
On-Site Program Coordinator & Curriculum Specialist
American

wil@centrohispanotn.org

Leroy Goñez Rodriguez
Lead Teacher ESP Classroom
Puerto Rican

leroy@centrohispanotn.org

Laura Esquivel
Lead Preschool Teacher
Mexican

laura@centrohispanotn.org

Workforce Development

Brandon Ledford
Workforce Development Director
American

brandon@centrohispanotn.org

Community Resource

René Yanes
Community Resource Director
Salvadorian

rene@centrohispanotn.org

Hilda Castillo
Health Promoter
Venezuelan

hilda@centrohispanotn.org

Board of Directors


    Marité Pérez (Board Chair) - Cuban American

Shawn Conklin (Board Vice Chair)  - American

Kathy Buckingham (Treasurer) - American

Wesley Wilson (Secretary) - American

Richard Duncan - American

Quineka Moten - African American

Jessica Bocangel - American

Jeennyfer Castellanos - Mexican

Adam Smith - African American

Darris Upton - African American

 

Our Partners

 

Funding Sponsors